Auckland School Boys Bowled Over by Cricket Competition

Auckland School Boys Bowled Over by Cricket CompetitionPublished: Mon, 21 Jan 2013

New Zealand’s future cricket stars will be put through their paces at a 3-day 20/20 schoolboy cricket tournament starting this Monday at Pt Chevalier’s Walker Park. Organised by Auckland Cricket, the Student Horizons 20/20 Cup gives Auckland school boys a chance to emulate their international cricket heroes in this exciting fast paced format of the game.

Participants from Westlake Boys, Sacred Heart, Auckland Grammar, Mount Albert Grammar, Kelston Boys and St Peters College will compete against each other in this prestigious pre season tournament.
“We are passionate about supporting grass-roots sport in New Zealand. Getting some of the country’s best cricketing schools together will be a great spectacle and we encourage anyone who is interested in the game to come along to support their local side and see future stars in action,” says sponsor Student Horizon’s Managing Director Jamie Wansey.
Auckland Cricket has partnered with Student Horizons to run the cup; now in its fifth year, from 10am to 5pm each day, Monday 21st January to Wednesday 23rd January and will provide scoreboards, tents and chilly bins to keep the boys cool as the action unfolds. Students Horizons’ sponsorship has meant the boys will be battling it out for a brand new trophy as well as sports vouchers for the Player of the Tournament from equipment manufacturer Under Armour.
Originally devised by Westlake Boys High School’s Headmaster, David Ferguson and recipient of a New Zealand Cricket youth initiative award, the tournament has proved very popular. “Auckland Cricket is keen to continue its success, and is proud to be managing the competition. We will provide an official umpire for every game,” explains Neil Gray from Auckland Cricket.
A short film will be made about the tournament.

ASB Bank
Upcoming Events
Football - AKSS Boys (Premiers)
Closes: Tue, 24 Feb 15
Starts: Sat, 2 May 15
Rugby League Boys Premier - Expression of Interest
Closes: Thu, 19 Mar 15
Starts: Wed, 6 May 15
Hockey - Auckland
Closes: Tue, 24 Mar 15
Starts: Mon, 4 May 15
Basketball - Girls (Premier)
Closes: Fri, 27 Mar 15
Starts: Fri, 1 May 15
Rugby - North Harbour 1st XV (Premiers)
Closes: Mon, 30 Mar 15
Starts: Sat, 2 May 15
Rugby - Auckland 1st XV (Premiers)
Closes: Mon, 30 Mar 15
Starts: Sat, 2 May 15
Basketball - Boys (Premier)
Closes: Mon, 30 Mar 15
Starts: Fri, 1 May 15
Football CM Boys - Premier
Closes: Tue, 31 Mar 15
Starts: Wed, 29 Apr 15
Football Girls - Premier
Closes: Wed, 1 Apr 15
Starts: Wed, 22 Apr 15
Squash - AKSS Season
Closes: Thu, 2 Apr 15
Starts: Fri, 24 Apr 15
Squash - AKSS Premier Season
Closes: Thu, 2 Apr 15
Starts: Fri, 24 Apr 15
Football - AKSS Boys
Closes: Thu, 2 Apr 15
Starts: Sat, 2 May 15
Basketball - Central
Closes: Thu, 2 Apr 15
Starts: Tue, 5 May 15
Rugby League - U85kg, U15 9 aside Auckland
Closes: Thu, 2 Apr 15
Starts: Wed, 13 May 15
Basketball - Counties Manukau
Closes: Thu, 2 Apr 15
Starts: Tue, 5 May 15
Gymsports - Rhythmic
Closes: Fri, 10 Apr 15
Starts: Sun, 21 Jun 15
Gymsports - Trampolining
Closes: Fri, 10 Apr 15
Starts: Wed, 3 Jun 15
Gymsports - Artistic / Tumbling
Closes: Fri, 10 Apr 15
Starts: Thu, 11 Jun 15
Football Girls - Greater Auckland
Closes: Wed, 15 Apr 15
Starts: Wed, 6 May 15
Lacrosse - AKSS Girls
Closes: Wed, 22 Apr 15
Starts: Thu, 14 May 15
Cycling - Team Time Trial Series
Closes: Thu, 23 Apr 15
Starts: Sun, 17 May 15
Duathlon
Closes: Wed, 29 Apr 15
Starts: Wed, 6 May 15
Football CM Boys - Counties Manukau
Closes: Thu, 30 Apr 15
Starts: Wed, 13 May 15
Lacrosse - Girls Auckland Champs
Closes: Thu, 23 Jul 15
Starts: Fri, 14 Aug 15
Follow us on Twitter
ASB BankSouth Auckland MotorsSport New ZealandFYFODSports DistributorsPumaFuji XeroxStudent HorizonsAll TeamsAir Tahiti NuiDistinction FurnitureBarter CardKiwi Print
Auckland Secondary Schools Heads Association - ASB College Sport for Auckland, North Harbour, Waitakere, Counties Manukau.
Unitec, Gate 4, Building 61 , Carrington Road , Mt Albert , Auckland 1246
Ph: 09 845 8496    Fax: 09 845 8497    Email: school.sport@collegesport.co.nz