Auckland School Boys Bowled Over by Cricket Competition

Auckland School Boys Bowled Over by Cricket CompetitionPublished: Mon, 21 Jan 2013

New Zealand’s future cricket stars will be put through their paces at a 3-day 20/20 schoolboy cricket tournament starting this Monday at Pt Chevalier’s Walker Park. Organised by Auckland Cricket, the Student Horizons 20/20 Cup gives Auckland school boys a chance to emulate their international cricket heroes in this exciting fast paced format of the game.

Participants from Westlake Boys, Sacred Heart, Auckland Grammar, Mount Albert Grammar, Kelston Boys and St Peters College will compete against each other in this prestigious pre season tournament.
“We are passionate about supporting grass-roots sport in New Zealand. Getting some of the country’s best cricketing schools together will be a great spectacle and we encourage anyone who is interested in the game to come along to support their local side and see future stars in action,” says sponsor Student Horizon’s Managing Director Jamie Wansey.
Auckland Cricket has partnered with Student Horizons to run the cup; now in its fifth year, from 10am to 5pm each day, Monday 21st January to Wednesday 23rd January and will provide scoreboards, tents and chilly bins to keep the boys cool as the action unfolds. Students Horizons’ sponsorship has meant the boys will be battling it out for a brand new trophy as well as sports vouchers for the Player of the Tournament from equipment manufacturer Under Armour.
Originally devised by Westlake Boys High School’s Headmaster, David Ferguson and recipient of a New Zealand Cricket youth initiative award, the tournament has proved very popular. “Auckland Cricket is keen to continue its success, and is proud to be managing the competition. We will provide an official umpire for every game,” explains Neil Gray from Auckland Cricket.
A short film will be made about the tournament.

Upcoming Events
Touch - Premiers Expression of Interest
Closes: Wed, 24 Aug 16
Starts: Sun, 1 Jan 17
Cricket Girls - Term 4
Closes: Mon, 19 Sep 16
Starts: Wed, 12 Oct 16
Cricket Boys - Term 4
Closes: Mon, 19 Sep 16
Starts: Sat, 15 Oct 16
Young Sportsperson of the Year Nominations 2016
Closes: Tue, 20 Sep 16
Starts: Sat, 26 Nov 16
Volleyball - Junior Season North Harbour Super League
Closes: Wed, 21 Sep 16
Starts: Wed, 12 Oct 16
Tennis - North Harbour Term 4 Season
Closes: Wed, 21 Sep 16
Starts: Mon, 17 Oct 16
Water Polo - Junior Season
Closes: Wed, 21 Sep 16
Starts: Fri, 14 Oct 16
Tennis - Auckland Junior Term 4 Season
Closes: Wed, 21 Sep 16
Starts: Sat, 15 Oct 16
Touch - Junior Season
Closes: Thu, 22 Sep 16
Starts: Tue, 18 Oct 16
Volleyball - Junior A (Premier) Season
Closes: Thu, 22 Sep 16
Starts: Fri, 14 Oct 16
Volleyball - Junior Zones
Closes: Fri, 23 Sep 16
Starts: Thu, 13 Oct 16
Cricket Blitz - Girls
Closes: Mon, 17 Oct 16
Starts: Thu, 27 Oct 16
Cricket Blitz - Boys
Closes: Mon, 17 Oct 16
Starts: Wed, 26 Oct 16
Softball - Junior Season
Closes: Tue, 18 Oct 16
Starts: Wed, 26 Oct 16
Baseball - Junior Season
Closes: Wed, 19 Oct 16
Starts: Wed, 26 Oct 16
Tag Football - Central, North & Western Zones Junior Tournament
Closes: Tue, 25 Oct 16
Starts: Tue, 1 Nov 16
Tag Football - South & Eastern Zones Junior Tournament
Closes: Tue, 25 Oct 16
Starts: Wed, 2 Nov 16
Lawn Bowls - Counties Manukau Junior Pairs
Closes: Tue, 25 Oct 16
Starts: Mon, 31 Oct 16
Waka Ama - Junior Regatta
Closes: Wed, 26 Oct 16
Starts: Sat, 5 Nov 16
Lawn Bowls - Auckland Junior Introductory Pairs
Closes: Wed, 26 Oct 16
Starts: Wed, 2 Nov 16
National Team Champions - Roll of Honour 2016
Closes: Tue, 1 Nov 16
Starts: Sat, 26 Nov 16
Golf - North Harbour / Auckland Ambrose Fun Day
Closes: Mon, 21 Nov 16
Starts: Mon, 28 Nov 16
Sport New ZealandSports DistributorsPumaFuji XeroxStudent HorizonsAir Tahiti NuiBarter CardKiwi Print
College Sport for Auckland, North Harbour, Waitakere, Counties Manukau.
Sport Central 14 Normanby Road , PO Box 67088 , Mt Eden , Auckland
Ph: 09 845 8496    Fax: 09 845 8497    Email: school.sport@collegesport.co.nz