North Harbour Dual Athletics Meet

North Harbour Dual Athletics MeetPublished: Wed, 28 Nov 2012

It could have been a damp squid but it turned out to be a cracker.

Two weeks ago, Friday afternoon at AUT Millenniun stadium saw something new in Inter College track and field. Six of our local colleges: Kristin, Westlake Boys, Pinehurst, Rangitoto, Orewa and Rosmini (it was nearly eight Colleges but a last minute cancellation left Carmel College without an opponent for that week) sent teams of year nine and tenners to do battle on the track in what must be by any standards an unusual type of competition (high jump, long jump, 100m, 200m, 400m, 8000, 1500m). No times…No measurements…everything was based on placings and it brought the team concept to the world of Inter-secondary track and field.

At the end of a couple of hours an exhausted bunch of teachers were waxing lyrical on the success of what I suspect was the first “Dual College Meet” in N.Z. history.

Sounds weird…No timing….No measuring…Just two Colleges waging war on the athletic track and contributing to a team score that added up at the end of the meet. The success of this event may well lead to this event being held at other age groups.

Firstly, high official level expertise is not necessary. Most of the officials were older students so anyone can be involved.

Secondly, the format does not emphasise the win or lose syndrome and accentuates a friendly competitive interschool attitude.

The format would seem to be entirely suitable to College athletics and should be considered in depth for Intermediate school competitions as well. An adoption of this format would present a bridge between Intermediate and College sport.

ASB Bank
Upcoming Events
Lacrosse - AKSS Boys
Closes: Tue, 17 Jun 14
Starts: Fri, 8 Aug 14
Lacrosse - Girls Auckland Champs
Closes: Thu, 3 Jul 14
Starts: Fri, 8 Aug 14
Girls Rugby League - Auckland
Closes: Thu, 24 Jul 14
Starts: Wed, 6 Aug 14
Rugby League North Harbour
Closes: Thu, 31 Jul 14
Starts: Wed, 13 Aug 14
Badminton - Individual & Doubles Champs
Closes: Tue, 12 Aug 14
Starts: Tue, 19 Aug 14
Mountain Bike - Race 4 Whitford Forest
Closes: Wed, 13 Aug 14
Starts: Sun, 17 Aug 14
Cycling - NZ Individual Championships
Closes: Fri, 15 Aug 14
Starts: Sat, 6 Sep 14
Mountain Bike - Race 5 Woodhill Forest
Closes: Wed, 27 Aug 14
Starts: Sun, 31 Aug 14
Waterpolo - Junior
Closes: Thu, 11 Sep 14
Starts: Fri, 17 Oct 14
ASB National Team Champions Roll of Honour 2014
Closes: Wed, 17 Sep 14
Starts: Thu, 20 Nov 14
ASB Young Sportsperson of the Year 2014
Closes: Wed, 17 Sep 14
Starts: Thu, 20 Nov 14
Road Race - AKSS Championships
Closes: Wed, 17 Sep 14
Starts: Tue, 23 Sep 14
Water Polo - NI Junior Championships
Closes: Wed, 24 Sep 14
Starts: Thu, 27 Nov 14
Touch - Junior
Closes: Fri, 26 Sep 14
Starts: Tue, 21 Oct 14
Kilikiti - Juniors
Closes: Tue, 11 Nov 14
Starts: Wed, 19 Nov 14
Follow us on Twitter
ASB BankSouth Auckland MotorsSport New ZealandFYFODSports DistributorsPumaFuji XeroxStudent HorizonsAll TeamsAir Tahiti NuiDistinction FurnitureBarter CardKiwi Print
Auckland Secondary Schools Heads Association - ASB College Sport for Auckland, North Harbour, Waitakere, Counties Manukau.
Unitec, Gate 4, Building 61 , Carrington Road , Mt Albert , Auckland 1246
Ph: 09 845 8496    Fax: 09 845 8497    Email: school.sport@collegesport.co.nz