North Harbour Dual Athletics Meet

North Harbour Dual Athletics MeetPublished: Wed, 28 Nov 2012

It could have been a damp squid but it turned out to be a cracker.

Two weeks ago, Friday afternoon at AUT Millenniun stadium saw something new in Inter College track and field. Six of our local colleges: Kristin, Westlake Boys, Pinehurst, Rangitoto, Orewa and Rosmini (it was nearly eight Colleges but a last minute cancellation left Carmel College without an opponent for that week) sent teams of year nine and tenners to do battle on the track in what must be by any standards an unusual type of competition (high jump, long jump, 100m, 200m, 400m, 8000, 1500m). No times…No measurements…everything was based on placings and it brought the team concept to the world of Inter-secondary track and field.

At the end of a couple of hours an exhausted bunch of teachers were waxing lyrical on the success of what I suspect was the first “Dual College Meet” in N.Z. history.

Sounds weird…No timing….No measuring…Just two Colleges waging war on the athletic track and contributing to a team score that added up at the end of the meet. The success of this event may well lead to this event being held at other age groups.

Firstly, high official level expertise is not necessary. Most of the officials were older students so anyone can be involved.

Secondly, the format does not emphasise the win or lose syndrome and accentuates a friendly competitive interschool attitude.

The format would seem to be entirely suitable to College athletics and should be considered in depth for Intermediate school competitions as well. An adoption of this format would present a bridge between Intermediate and College sport.

Upcoming Events
Badminton - North Harbour Term 3
Closes: Wed, 29 Jun 16
Starts: Tue, 26 Jul 16
Lacrosse - Boys Season
Closes: Thu, 30 Jun 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Badminton - Central Zone Term 3
Closes: Tue, 5 Jul 16
Starts: Mon, 8 Aug 16
Badminton - Eastern Zone Term 3
Closes: Tue, 5 Jul 16
Starts: Mon, 8 Aug 16
Futsal - North Harbour Season
Closes: Fri, 22 Jul 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Futsal - Western Season (Trust Stadium Hub)
Closes: Fri, 22 Jul 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Lawn Bowls Auckland Interschool Pairs
Closes: Tue, 26 Jul 16
Starts: Mon, 1 Aug 16
Swimming - Individual Championship
Closes: Tue, 26 Jul 16
Starts: Sun, 31 Jul 16
Table Tennis - Auckland Term 3 Competition
Closes: Wed, 27 Jul 16
Starts: Thu, 4 Aug 16
Rugby League Auckland Girls 9's
Closes: Thu, 28 Jul 16
Starts: Thu, 4 Aug 16
Futsal - Auckland Season
Closes: Fri, 29 Jul 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Table Tennis - North Harbour Term 3 League
Closes: Mon, 1 Aug 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Lacrosse - Girls Auckland Champs
Closes: Thu, 4 Aug 16
Starts: Sun, 14 Aug 16
Mountain Bike - Race 3 Hunua Forrest
Closes: Wed, 10 Aug 16
Starts: Sun, 14 Aug 16
Ki O Rahi
Closes: Wed, 7 Sep 16
Starts: Tue, 13 Sep 16
Road Race - Championships
Closes: Wed, 14 Sep 16
Starts: Tue, 20 Sep 16
Young Sportsperson of the Year Nominations 2016
Closes: Tue, 20 Sep 16
Starts: Sat, 26 Nov 16
Sport New ZealandSports DistributorsPumaFuji XeroxStudent HorizonsAir Tahiti NuiBarter CardKiwi Print
College Sport for Auckland, North Harbour, Waitakere, Counties Manukau.
Sport Central 14 Normanby Road , PO Box 67088 , Mt Eden , Auckland
Ph: 09 845 8496    Fax: 09 845 8497    Email: school.sport@collegesport.co.nz