College Sport: Ko strokes her way to two in a row.
Photo: Tai Webster is the youngest player to make his debut for the Tall Blacks. Photo / Michelle Hyslop.

It was very much a case of the long and the short of it as the winners of the ASB Young Sportsman and Woman of the year were named at the College Sports awards dinner.

For the second year in a row, the world's best amateur golfer Lydia Ko, from Pinehurst School, took the women's honour. She was joined in the winner's circle by international rising basketball star Tai Webster from Westlake BHS.

Ko follows former national swimming representative Scott Talbot (Rosmini College) in a double scoop of the award. Talbot won his awards in 1998 and 1999. Given her standing, and undoubted talent, Ko must be a strong fancy to complete the trifecta next year.

Webster's win comes two years after Robert Loe, another Westlake Boys basketballer, took the award. Webster led Westlake to victory in the Auckland SS premier championship and the national SS title in a year which also saw him debut for the Tall Blacks at the FIBA Olympic qualifying tournament. At 17, he's the youngest to debut at that level.

Not content with simply making up the numbers, Webster led all scorers with 21 points in New Zealand's 68-64 win over Angola.

His future appears assured after being awarded a scholarship with Lincoln University, Nebraska, where he will play in their division one basketball team, the Nebraska Cornhuskers.

It was a stellar year for Ko who was named as one of the New Zealand Herald's rising stars in January. Playing as an amateur, she won the Canadian Open on the US LPGA tour and also collected the Women's NSW Open as, at 14 years, their youngest-ever winner.

Ko was also the leading amateur at the US Open, won the US Women's Amateur Championship and comfortably retained her ranking for the second year as the world's leading amateur. At the Espirito Santo World Amateur team's championship, she shot an amazing 14-under to claim individual honours by six shots.

A number of other sports stars such as athlete Siositina Hakeai (AGGS), rower Michael Brake (WBHS) and swimmer Tabitha Baumann (Rangitoto) who featured in College Sport during the year were named winners in their sports.

ASB Young Sportsman of the Year: Tai Webster (WBHS).
ASB Young Sportswoman of the Year: Lydia Ko (Pinehurst).
Allrounders: Sarah Adam (Diocesan), Ashleigh Williams (EGGS), Gabriella Fotu (Rangitoto), Matthew Lewis (Sacred Heart).
Athletes with a disability: Steven Ramlose (Alfriston), Richard Parker (Kings).
International achievement: Aine Kelly-Costello (Pinehurst).
Athletics: Dalton Coppins (Sacred Heart), Siositina Hakeai (AGGS).
Badminton: Dylan Soedjasa (WBHS), Lilian Shih (Pakuranga).
Basketball: Webster, Penina Davidson (Rangitoto).
Cricket: Robert O'Donnell (WBHS), Francesca Wilkinson (St Kentigern).
Cycling: Scott Ambrose (Sancta Maria), Racquel Sheath (Whangaparaoa).
Distance running: Finn Wilson (AGS), Williams.
Equestrian (eventing): Georgina Llewellyn (St Cuthberts).
Football (soccer): Liam Anderson (WBHS), Chloe Knott (Rangitoto).
Golf: Nicholas Voke (Manurewa HS), Ko.
Gymsports: Dylan Schmidt (Kings), Jordan Rae (Baradene).
Hockey: Kim Kingstone (Kings), Danielle Sutherland (Diocesan).
Lawn bowls: Brendyn Johnston (Dilworth), Siobhan Archer (Howick).
Mountainbiking: Logan Callesen (AGS).
Netball: Nadia Loveday (MAGS).
Orienteering: Cameron Tier (WBHS), Rebecca Gray (St Cuthberts).
Rowing: Siositina Hakeai (AGGS). Sarah Smith (EGGS).
Rugby League: Semisi Tyrell (Sir Edmund Hillary).
Rugby Union: Broc Hooper (St Kentigern), Onjeurlina Leiataua (Papatoetoe HS).
Softball: Eru Drage (Massey HS), Beth Stavert (Green Bay HS).
Squash: Sion Wiggin (WBHS), Ellie Epke (EGGS).
Swimming: Coey Main (Macleans), Tabitha Baumann (Rangitoto).
Table tennis: Daniel Lowe (St Kentigern), Maggie Ngo (St Cuthberts).
Tennis: Rhett Purcell (Sacred Heart), Paige Hourigan (St Kentigern).
Touch: Phoenix Hunapo (KBHS), Tyla Nathan-Wong (Lynfield).
Multisport: Sam Ward (St Kentigern), Elise Salt (St Cuthberts).
Underwater hockey: Matt Trevelyan (MAGS), Portia Manukuo (EGGS).
Volleyball: Thomas Heijs (Long Bay), Koloti Kamoto (McAuley).
Waka Ama: Rhei Pare (Southern Cross Campus), Kata Brown (Alfriston).
Water polo: Thomas Kingsmill (Kristin), Rebecca Parkes (Rangitoto).
Wrestling: Joshua Downes (MAGS).
Yachting: Andrew Mckenzie (Sacred Heart), Elise Beavis (Kristin).
Service to sport: Dido Gotz (Gymsports), Margaret Woolf (Gymsports), Lara Collins (Waka Ama).
Puma Sports Educator of the Year: Theuns Strydom.


Upcoming Events
Lawn Bowls North Harbour Champs Pairs & Singles
Closes: Mon, 20 Jun 16
Starts: Mon, 27 Jun 16
Duathlon Championships
Closes: Fri, 24 Jun 16
Starts: Thu, 30 Jun 16
Badminton - North Harbour Term 3
Closes: Tue, 28 Jun 16
Starts: Tue, 26 Jul 16
Lacrosse Boys Greater Auckland Season
Closes: Thu, 30 Jun 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Badminton - Eastern Zone Term 3
Closes: Tue, 5 Jul 16
Starts: Mon, 8 Aug 16
Badminton - Central Zone Term 3
Closes: Tue, 5 Jul 16
Starts: Mon, 8 Aug 16
Futsal North Harbour
Closes: Fri, 22 Jul 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Futsal West (Trust Stadium Hub)
Closes: Fri, 22 Jul 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Futsal Auckland
Closes: Fri, 22 Jul 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Lawn Bowls Auckland Interschool Pairs
Closes: Tue, 26 Jul 16
Starts: Mon, 1 Aug 16
Table Tennis Auckland Term 3 Competition
Closes: Wed, 27 Jul 16
Starts: Thu, 4 Aug 16
Table Tennis - North Harbour Term 3 League
Closes: Mon, 1 Aug 16
Starts: Fri, 5 Aug 16
Mountain Bike - Race 3 Hunua Forrest
Closes: Wed, 10 Aug 16
Starts: Sun, 14 Aug 16
Sport New ZealandSports DistributorsPumaFuji XeroxStudent HorizonsAir Tahiti NuiBarter CardKiwi Print
College Sport for Auckland, North Harbour, Waitakere, Counties Manukau.
Sport Central 14 Normanby Road , PO Box 67088 , Mt Eden , Auckland
Ph: 09 845 8496    Fax: 09 845 8497    Email: